Day 1

Moon Faces

Hello world.

I am starting this blog as a way to center myself. I am on a journey and for many years I have been going down the wrong path. I feel as though it is time for me to embrace my life and seriously consider my mental and physical health, both of which I have been neglecting for far too long.

☮I am Miss Recovery and I am an alcoholic☮

I have been since the first drink I took. I am a chronic binge drinker and I have lost control over my addiction. I wish I could say this was my first attempt at getting sober but it is not. I was sober February 2015-April 2015 and I can honestly say I was a better person in that short time period. When I drink I have a tendency to act without thinking (no surprise there) and over the years I have gotten myself into more trouble than I care to admit. I am nearing the latter half of my twenties and it is now or never. My addiction has advanced significantly in the last three years… it has to stop. I have to stop my addictive behavior from destroying my life. I am not going to give away many details of my life, in an effort to remain anonymous… not that many people will see this anyway but you can never be too careful. I am originally from the US, from a state on the east coast. I now live in Europe. My drinking has increased significantly since I moved here 3 years ago but I have been an alcoholic since I was 18. I spent way too many nights puking and blacked out in my twenties and I have started to notice my health problems are on the rise. I have recently been diagnosed with severe anxiety ,agoraphobia, and depression and placed on the medication Sertraline. I rarely leave my house unless I absolutely have to and when I do, I frequently suffer panic attacks. Most of my recent problems with friends and family can be traced back to something I said when I was drunk. I hope in the coming weeks and months to try and foster healthier connections with other people and to actively work on my anxiety and agoraphobia.

I am going to use this blog as a sort of recovery journal.  If anyone else is in recovery or just feels like talking, let me know! ✌

Here is to day 1!

Sobriety Date: February 16, 2016

Leave a comment